Skip to main content Skip to footer

Cross Country

Feb. 7, 2018

COLUMBIA, S.C. - A total of 82 South Carolina students made the 2017 Fall SEC Academic Honor Roll, as commissioner Greg Sankey released this year's list on Wednesday.

A total of 1,018 students earned a spot, with those students competing in the sports of cross country, football, soccer and volleyball. The list is based on grades from the 2017 spring, summer and fall terms.

Any student-athlete who participates in a Southeastern Conference championship sport or a student-athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution's NCAA Sports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the Academic Honor Roll. The following criteria will be followed: (1) A student-athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution. (2) If a student-athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll. (3) Student-athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non-scholarship student-athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons. (4) Prior to being nominated, a student-athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution. (5) The student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport's entire NCAA Championship segment.

South Carolina's honorees are as follows:

Women's Cross Country (19):
Morgan Adams - Exercise Science
Maddie Beaubien - Public Health
Megan Buechler – Journalism
Emily Crounse – Pharmacy
Haley Dietsch – Management
Leah Ford – Chemical Engineering
Emily Harding – Public Health
Kelsey Larkin – Biological Sciences
Morgan Lee – Psychology
Anna McElrath – Exercise Science
Sarah-Sims McGrath – Advertising
Allison Mueller – Pharmacy
Julia Nardone – Public Health
Colleen Openshaw – Biochemistry
Regina Schreiber – Criminal Justice
Allie Sprague – Accounting
Anna Kathryn Stoddard – Journalism
Sarah Taylor – Global Studies
Kaylee Wessel – International Business


Football (27):
Ben Asbury – Economics
Jacob August – Marketing
Zack Bailey – Criminal Justice
Jake Bentley – Sports and Entertainment Management
Summie Carlay – Biochemistry
Joseph Charlton – Retail
Dennis Daley – Interdisciplinary Studies
Chavis Dawkins – African American Studies
Mon Denson – Sport and Entertainment Management
Trey Derouen – Integrated Information Technology
Javion Duncan – Sport and Entertainment Management
Spencer Eason-Riddle – Public Health
Chandler Farrell – Exercise Science
Daniel Fennell – Management Science
Harrison Freeman – Finance
Danny Gordon – Finance
Bailey Hart – Exercise Science
Cory Helms – Interdisciplinary Studies
Hayden Hurst – Sport and Entertainment Management
Kyle Markway – Sport and Entertainment Management
Kiel Pollard – Middle Level Education
Michael Scarnecchia – Finance
Jason Senn – Sport and Entertainment Management
Demetrius Smalls – Sport and Entertainment Management
Kobe Smith – Sport and Entertainment Management
M.J. Webb – Criminal Justice
D.J. Wonnum – Sport and Entertainment Management

Men's Soccer (11):
Chandler Corley – Mechanical Engineering
Smith Dawsey – Business
Trygve Ellingstad – Finance
Peyton Ericson – Finance
Campbell Gibson – Mechanical Engineering
Bjorn Gudjonsson – Finance
Jeff Lu – Business
Luca Mayr – Business
William Pyle – Public Health
Andre Streete – Sport and Entertainment Management
Christoffer Wallender Ianev – Economics

Women's Soccer (13):
Dominique Babbitt – Retailing
Elexa Bahr – Hopitality Management
Anna Conklin – Sport and Entertainment Management
Lauren Jankowski – Visual Communication
Rebecca Koch – Statistics
Mikayla Krzeczowski – Visual Communication
Lindsey Lane – Arts Studio
Kailey Mattison – Pharmacy
Savannah McCaskill – Exercise Science
Alexis Pendergraft – Experimental Psychology
Lauren Pinkham – Sport and Entertainment Management
Elizabeth Stahlman – Exercise Science
Simone Wark – Sport and Entertainment Management

Volleyball (12):
Callie Brown – Broadcast Journalism
Claire Edwards – Sport and Entertainment Management
Abreia Epps – Counselor Education
Aubrey Ezell – Public Health
Courtney Furlong – Experimental Psychology
Courtney Koehler – Sport and Entertainment Management
Emma Lock – Experimental Psychology
Courtney McKeag – Criminal Justice
Savannah Murray – Exercise Science
Mikayla Shields – Biological Sciences
Alicia Starr – Exercise Science
Jesse Turner – Biological Sciences


Gamecock Videos

  • Shop Now

Gamecock Features

b a
Verizon IMG College Colonial Life Coca Cola University of South Carolian SEC