Skip to main content Skip to footer


Samie Garcia Collects Second-Team All-SEC Nod
Senior shortstop Samie Garcia

May 7, 2013

COLUMBIA, S.C. - South Carolina senior shortstop Samie Garcia took a spot on the All-Southeastern Conference second team in the infield, the league office announced today.

Garcia led the SEC with nine doubles in league action while ranking seventh with a .383 batting average. She also made 58 assists in SEC play, standing second in the league. In all games, Garcia lead the Gamecocks in 11 offensive categories and stands in the SEC's top 15 in eight of them. Twenty times, her name comes up in the top 20 in South Carolina's career offensive record book. Garcia is the second Gamecock under head coach Beverly Smith to garner all-conference honors, following Lauren Lackey's first-team selection a year ago.

"Samie's all-conference selection is well-deserved," said Smith. "To be recognized by the league coaches is a big honor for Samie. She's had a great senior season, both with her offensive numbers and her defense play. I'm thrilled for this recognition for Samie and for the program."

Tennessee's Lauren Gibson claimed the SEC Player of the Year award and led four Lady Vols who made the first team, three in the infield. Missouri's Chelsea Thomas garnered the SEC Pitcher of the Year award, while Florida's Tim Walton received the SEC Coach of the Year honor after leading the Gators to the regular-season title. Co-Freshmen of the Year were chosen, as LSU's Bianka Bell and Georgia's Geri Ann Glasco split the award. And Missouri's Jenna Marston took the SEC Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year accolade.

The Gamecocks start SEC Tournament action on Wednesday against seventh-seeded Kentucky. First pitch at John Cropp Stadium in Lexington, Ky., is set for 6:30 p.m. EDT and will be shown on ESPNU.

2013 SEC Softball Awards

Player of the Year: Lauren Gibson, Tennessee
Pitcher of the Year: Chelsea Thomas, Missouri
Coach of the Year: Tim Walton, Florida
Co-Freshmen of the Year: Bianka Bell, LSU; Geri Ann Glasco, Georgia
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Jenna Marston, Missouri



First Team All-SEC
P - Chelsea Thomas, Missouri
P - Hannah Rogers, Florida
IF - Lauren Gibson, Tennessee
IF - Raven Chavanne, Tennessee
IF - Madison Shipman, Tennessee
IF - Paige Wilson, Georgia
OF - Kayla Braud, Alabama
OF - Kat Dotson, Tennessee
OF - Kaylee Puailoa, Georgia
OF - A.J. Andrews, LSU
C - Jenna Marston, Missouri
DP/U - Lauren Haeger, Florida

Second Team All-SEC
P - Rachele Fico, LSU
P - Kimmy Beasley, Arkansas
IF - Samie Garcia, South Carolina
IF - Kelsey Stewart, Florida
IF - Bianka Bell, LSU
IF - Kaila Hunt, Alabama
OF - Haylie McCleney, Alabama
OF - Kelsey Horton, Florida
OF - Branndi Melero, Auburn
OF - Jacee Blades, LSU
C - Griffin Joiner, Kentucky
DP/U - Mel Dumezich, Texas A&M

SEC All-Freshman Team
P - Kelsey Nunley, Kentucky
P - Chelsea Wilkinson, Georgia
IF - Kelsey Stewart, Florida
IF - Bianka Bell, LSU
IF - Geri Ann Glasco, Georgia
IF - Emily Carosone, Auburn
OF - Haylie McCleney, Alabama
OF - Kaylee Puailoa, Georgia
OF - Kristi Merritt, Florida
OF - Andrea Hawkins, Alabama
OF - Tiffany Howard, Auburn
C - Kellsi Kloss, LSU
DP/U - Cali Lanphear, Texas A&M

SEC All-Defensive Team
P - Chelsea Thomas, Missouri
C - Griffin Joiner, Kentucky
1B - Morgan Estell, Auburn
2B - Lauren Gibson, Tennessee
SS - Madison Shipman, Tennessee
3B - Raven Chavanne, Tennessee
LF - Kayla Braud, Alabama
CF - Haylie McCleney, Alabama
RF - Kat Dotson, Tennessee


Gamecock Videos

  • Shop Now

Gamecock Features

Gamecock Confidential
Recruiting Questionnaire
Field of Dreams Registration
Carolina Softball Stadium at Beckham Field
Verizon IMG College Colonial Life Coca Cola University of South Carolian SEC