Skip to main content Skip to footer

Women's Soccer

McCaskill, Krzeczowski Named To 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
Aug. 8, 2017

2017 Women's MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

-- South Carolina women's soccer standouts Savannah McCaskill and Mikayla Krzeczowski have been named to the 2017 Women's MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, the United Soccer Coaches announced Tuesday afternoon. South Carolina is one of four schools with multiple student-athletes on the list for the annual honor that recognizes the top women's soccer player in NCAA Division I.

McCaskill, a semifinalist for the 2016 MAC Hermann Trophy, earned a spot on the award's watch list for the second-straight season. The senior striker and 2016 SEC Offensive Player of the Year turned in the finest individual campaign in program history last fall, setting single-season school records for points (45) and goals (17). She ranked third nationally in points and logged five multi-goal games, including a two-goal performance in Carolina's win over No. 6 Clemson last September. McCaskill's 10 game-winners in 2016 are the most among any returning Division I player.

Krzeczowski shined in net during her freshman season last year. The sophomore and Douglasville, Ga., native posted the program's lowest single-season goals against average (0.43) and notched the most shutouts ever (11) by a Gamecock freshman. Eight of her 11 clean sheets came in SEC play, and she also collected shutouts in Carolina's NCAA Tournament victories over No. 20 Colorado and No. 4 BYU. Krzeczowski conceded just three goals in conference action en route to All-SEC First Team honors.

The 15 semifinalists for the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy will be announced in late November. The group of semifinalists will be determined by All-America voting conducted by NCAA Division I women's soccer coaches with oversight from the United Soccer Coaches Division I Women's Senior College All-America Committee.

Voting for the three MAC Hermann Trophy finalists will get underway following the announcement of the semifinalists. The finalists will be revealed in early December, and the winner will be announced on Fri., Jan. 5, at the Missouri Athletic Club banquet in St. Louis, Mo.

McCaskill, Krzeczowski and the Gamecocks open their 2017 campaign Fri., Aug. 18, at home against UCF before hosting Florida Gulf Coast two days later on Aug. 20. Both matches at Stone Stadium kick off at 7 p.m. ET.




Gamecock Videos

  • Shop Now

Gamecock Features

b a
Verizon IMG College Colonial Life Coca Cola University of South Carolian SEC