Skip to main content Skip to footer

Men's Golf

NeSmith Named PING Honorable Mention All-American
Matt NeSmith

June 20, 2013

COLUMBIA, S.C. -- South Carolina freshman Matt NeSmith has been named to the PING Honorable Mention All-America Team, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced Thursday.

NeSmith becomes the 19th golfer in school history to garner the honor and is the first Gamecock freshman to receive the accolade since George Bryan IV earned honorable mention honors in 2007.

A native of North Augusta, S.C., NeSmith turned in one of the most decorated freshman seasons in school history. On top of the All-American honor, he was also named the SEC Co-Freshman of the Year and earned a spot on the PING All-Southeast Region Team. He led South Carolina to a runner-up finish at the SEC Championship and a tie for second showing at the NCAA Columbus Regional, which secured the program's first NCAA Championship berth since 2009. He recorded seven top-10 finishes this season, tying for the second most all-time in a single season at South Carolina. He also led the Gamecocks in scoring with a stroke average of 72.64, which is the second lowest average for a freshman in school history. NeSmith was South Carolina's top finisher at the NCAA Championship as he tied for 38th after firing a final-round 66 (-4), matching the lowest NCAA Championship score in school history.

NeSmith was one of 12 golfers from the SEC to be named to the PING All-America teams.

PING All-America Teams
First Team
Daniel Berger, Florida State
Julien Brun, TCU
Greg Eason, UCF
James Erkenbeck, New Mexico
Max Homa, California
Michael Kim, California
Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington
Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
Brandon Stone, Texas
Michael Weaver, California
Cory Whitsett, Alabama

Second Team Albin Choi, NC State Sean Dale, North Florida Scott Fernandez, Iowa State Pedro Figueiredo, UCLA Brandon Hagy, California Brinson Paolini, Duke Joel Stalter, California Justin Thomas, Alabama Chris Williams, Washington Bobby Wyatt, Alabama

Third Team Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas Corey Conners, Kent State Oliver Goss, Tennessee Gavin Green, New Mexico MJ Maguire, North Florida Thomas Pieters, Illinois Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech Pontus Widegren, UCLA Cameron Wilson, Stanford

Honorable Mention Evan Beck, Wake Forest Zac Blair, BYU Dominic Bozzelli, Auburn Rodolfo Cazaubon, North Texas Yi Keun Chang, Southern California Mario Clemens, SMU Charlie Danielson, Illinois Ian Davis, Oklahoma State Tyler Dunlap, Texas A&M Nicolas Echavarria, Arkansas Jonathan Garrick, UCLA Jonathan Grey, Georgia State Cody Gribble, Texas Rick Lamb, Tennessee Denny McCarthy, Virginia Tyler McCumber, Florida Matt NeSmith, South Carolina Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State Kevin Penner, UNLV Jack Perry, Northwestern Kevin Phelan, North Florida Jon Rahm, Arizona State Seth Reeves, Georgia Tech Chase Seiffert, Florida State Sam Smith, Southern California Sebastian Soderberg, Coastal Carolina Scott Strohmeyer, Alabama



Gamecock Videos

  • Shop Now

Gamecock Features