Skip to main content Skip to footer


Official Pairings Announced for Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge

April 23, 2014

Greensboro, Ga. - The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge today announced the official pairings for the eighth edition of the annual charity golf tournament. An 11-team field of NCAA head coaches and celebrity alumni will compete in a two-man scramble format over 18 holes, vying for a first-place prize of $125,000 in scholarship funds. All participating teams will receive a portion of the $520,000 total scholarship purse.

Featured groups highlight conference and state rivalry pairings, and include:


Alabama Nick Saban / Mark Ingram

Mississippi Hugh Freeze / Sean Tuohy


Georgia Tech (2011, 2012 Champions) Paul Johnson / Jon Barry

Virginia Tech (2007 Champions) Frank Beamer / Dell Curry


North Carolina Larry Fedora / Roy Williams

South Carolina (2008, 2009 Champions) Steve Spurrier / Sterling Sharpe


Mississippi State Dan Mullen / Fred McCrary

NC State Dave Doeren / Terry Harvey


Auburn Gus Malzahn / Bo Jackson

Clemson Dabo Swinney / Steve Fuller


Cincinnati Tommy Tuberville / JK Schaffer

The nation's premier head coach and celebrity golf event will be held April 27-29 at the Reynolds Plantation resort on Lake Oconee outside Atlanta. Over the past seven years, the Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge has provided $4.03 million in scholarship and charitable contributions.

The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge is a significant contributor to the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl's overall charitable and scholarship donations, which total more than $17 million since 2002, making the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl college football's most charitable bowl game.

The tournament is being taped by ESPN for broadcast in August and December. Specific air dates will be announced this summer.

For more information on the event, visit



Gamecock Videos

Gamecock Features

Verizon IMG College Colonial Life Coca Cola University of South Carolian SEC