Gamecocks Set Spring Practice Schedule
Head coach Steve Spurrier
 
Head coach Steve Spurrier

Feb. 24, 2009

The University of South Carolina's 2009 spring football practice dates have been set, it was announced today. The Gamecocks are slated to open their spring drills on Tuesday, March 3 and conclude with the annual Garnet & Black Spring Game on Saturday, April 11.

All 15 of the spring practice sessions are open to the public. Most practices will take place at the Bluff Road practice fields beginning at 4 p.m. All dates and times are subject to change.

Persons with cameras will be permitted to shoot the first 15 minutes of each practice. After that, no still or video photography will be allowed during the practice sessions.

The Garnet & Black Spring Game will be held Saturday, April 11, beginning at 1 p.m. at Williams-Brice Stadium.

The Gamecocks, under fifth-year head coach Steve Spurrier, will return 40 lettermen, including 12 starters (five on offense, six on defense and one on special teams).

Here are the practice dates currently scheduled (all dates subject to change):

Practice No. 1: Tuesday, March 3

Practice No. 2: Thursday, March 5

Practice No. 3: Wednesday, March 18

Practice No. 4: Friday, March 20

Practice No. 5: Saturday, March 21

Practice No. 6: Wednesday, March 25

Practice No. 7: Friday, March 27

Practice No. 8: Saturday, March 28 (Scrimmage No. 1)

Practice No. 9: Wednesday, April 1

Practice No. 10: Friday, April 3

Practice No. 11: Saturday, April 4 (Scrimmage No. 2)

Practice No. 12: Monday, April 6

Practice No. 13: Wednesday, April 8

Practice No. 14: Friday, April 10

Practice No. 15: Saturday, April 11 (Garnet & Black Spring Game); 1 p.m.