Skip to main content Skip to footer


90 Gamecocks on SEC Fall Academic Honor Roll
Feb. 8, 2017

COLUMBIA, S.C. - A total of 90 South Carolina students made the 2016 Fall SEC Academic Honor Roll, as commissioner Greg Sankey released this year’s list on Wednesday.

A total of 1,029 students earned a spot, with those students competing in the sports of cross country, football, soccer and volleyball. The list is based on grades from the 2016 spring, summer and fall terms.

Arkansas led the way with 91, with the Gamecocks standing second with their 90. Kentucky came in third with 85.

Any student-athlete who participates in a Southeastern Conference championship sport or a student-athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution’s NCAA Sports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the Academic Honor Roll. The following criteria will be followed: (1) A student-athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution. (2) If a student-athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll. (3) Student-athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non-scholarship student-athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons. (4) Prior to being nominated, a student-athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution. (5) The student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.

South Carolina’s honorees are as follows:

Women’s Cross Country (15):
Hannah Giangaspro – Exercise Science
Emily Harding – Public Health
Martha McCoy – Biological Sciences
Anna McElrath – Exercise Science
Allison Mueller – Pharmaceutical Sciences
Julia Nardone – Public Health
Melanie Ng – Business Economics
Colleen Openshaw – Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Caitlin Potter – Public Health
Mary Reiser – Public Relations
Regina Schreiber – Criminal Justice
Allie Sprague – Accounting
Sarah Taylor – Global Studies
Kaylee Wessel – International Business
Monica York – Exercise Science


Football (30):
Jacob August – Marketing
Rivers Bedenbaugh – Exercise Science
Matrick Belton – Physical Education
Javon Charleston – Sociology
Logan Crane – Biological Sciences
Mon Denson – Sport and Entertainment Management
Devin Dingle – Accounting
Jalen Dread – Broadcast Journalism
Bryan Edwards – Sport and Entertainment Management
Daniel Fennell – Retail Management
Elliott Fry – Marketing
Scott Grant – Integrated Info Technology
Cory Helms – Interdisciplinary Studies
Hayden Hurst – Exercise Science
Shannon James – Hospitality Management
Chris Lammons – Sociology
Kyle Markway – Sport and Entertainment Management
Brandon McIlwain – Political Science
Perry Orth – Economics
Darius Paulk – Management & Marketing
Jasper Sasser – Sport and Entertainment Management
Dante Sawyer – Interdisciplinary Studies
Michael Scarnecchia – Finance
Jason Senn – Sport and Entertainment Management
Demetrius Smalls – Sport and Entertainment Management
Jamari Smith – Public Health
Rod Talley – Integrated Info Technology
Antoine Wilder – Psychology
David Williams – Retail Management
Drew Williams – Public Health

Men’s Soccer (15):
Ive Burnett – Public Health
Chandler Corley – Mechanical Engineering
Ben Davidson – Business
Danny Deakin – Criminal Justice
Trygve Ellingstad – Finance
Peyton Ericson – Sport Management
Bjorn Gudjonsson – Business
Lee Hogge – Exercise Science
Matt McManis – Management
Koty Millard – Exercise Science
Torgeir Nyboe – Sport Management
William Pyle – Public Health
Andre Streete – Sport Management
Kurtis Turner – Criminal Justice
Christoffer Wallander Ianev – Economics

Women’s Soccer (18):
Dominique Babbitt – Retailing
Paige Bendell – Accounting
Anna Conklin – Sport Management
Bay Daniel – Retailing
Chelsea Drennan – Pharmacy
Daija Griffin – Public Relations
Sophie Groff – Elementary Education
Lauren Jankowski – Visual Communication
Mikayla Krzeczowski – Visual Communication
Kaleigh Kurtz – Exercise Science
Lindsey Lane – Visual Communication
Savannah McCaskill – Exercise Science
Hunter Peifer – Elementary Education
Alexis Pendergraft – Psychology
Evelyn Robinson – Finance
Estefania Salas – Business
Claire Studebaker – Exercise Science
Simone Wark – Sport Management

Volleyball (12):
Jacqy Angermiller – Retailing
Koko Atoa-Williams – Exercise Science
Callie Brown – Broadcast Journalism
Joely Cabrera – Exercise Science
Claire Edwards – Sport and Entertainment Management
Abreia Epps – Experimental Psychology
Aubrey Ezell – Public Health
Courtney Furlong – Experimental Psychology
Megan Kirkland – Exercise Science
Emma Lock – Experimental Psychology
Courtney McKeag – Criminology and Criminal Justice
Jesse Turner – Biological Sciences


Gamecock Videos

  • Shop Now

Gamecock Features

Draft Central
National Signing Day Central
2018 Outback Bowl Champs
Building for the Future
Football Ops Center Updates
Verizon IMG College Colonial Life Coca Cola University of South Carolian SEC