Skip to main content Skip to footer


Roth & Price Named Semifinalists For Howser Trophy
Matt Price

May 20, 2011

Columbia, S.C. - South Carolina junior left-hander Michael Roth and sophomore right-hander Matt Price have been named semifinalists for the 2011 Dick Howser Trophy, awarded to the top collegiate baseball player by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA).

Roth leads the Gamecocks and the SEC with a 1.28 ERA and currently is 10-3 in 98.2 innings pitched. Opponents are hitting only .224 against him. Price is among the nation's leaders with 13 saves in 25 relief appearances to go along with a 5-3 record and a 2.41 ERA out of the bullpen.

The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Dick Howser Trophy Award recipient based on two rounds of national voting. This year's 25th anniversary of the Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations will be made even more special by the awarding of this year's honor at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the new home of the College World Series. The award will be presented on Tuesday, June 21 at 10 a.m. CT, prior to the fourth day of the 2011 CWS.

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg - home of the defending American League champion Tampa Bay Rays and the 1999 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four - along with several other locations. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P/DH, Houston, 2006; David Price, P, Vanderbilt, 2007; Buster Posey, C, Florida State, 2008 and Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State, 2009; Anthony Rendon, 3B, Rice, 2010.



Pos. Name, School Trever Adams, OF, Creighton Daniel Aldrich, OF, College of Charleston James Allen, RP, Kansas State Trevor Bauer, SP, UCLA C.J. Cron, 1B, Utah Cody Fick, UT, Evansville Grayson Garvin, SP, Vanderbilt Sean Gilmartin, SP, Florida State Sonny Gray, SP, Vanderbilt David Herbek, SS, James Madison D.J. Hicks, DH, UCF Jeff Holm, 1B, Michigan State Danny Hultzen, UT, Virginia Brian Johnson, UT, Florida Taylor Jungmann, SP, Texas Cory Knebel, RP, Texas Jason Krizan, OF, Dallas Baptist Tommy La Stella, 2B, Coastal Carolina Matt Leeds, 3B, College of Charleston Jake Lowery, C, James Madison Mikie Mahtook, OF, LSU Brad Miller, SS, Clemson Chris O'Brien, C, Wichita State Dan Paolini, 2B, Siena Tyler Pill, UT, Cal State Fullerton Matt Price, RP, South Carolina Tyler Ray, SP, Troy Anthony Rendon, DH, Rice Victor Roache, OF, Georgia Southern Will Roberts, SP, Virginia Michael Roth, SP, South Carolina George Springer, OF, Connecticut Adam Brett Walker, 1B, Jacksonville Brad Zebedis, DH, Presbyterian Mike Zunino, C, Florida Chad Zurcher, SS, Memphis


Gamecock Videos

Gamecock Features

b a
Verizon IMG College Colonial Life Coca Cola University of South Carolian SEC