Skip to main content Skip to footer

Track & Field

Gamecocks Celebrate 2017 with Annual Banquet
Oct. 17, 2017

2017 Track & Field Banquet

COLUMBIA, S.C. -- The University of South Carolina track & field team celebrated an incredibly successful 2017 season last weekend as it held its annual awards banquet. The Gamecocks and their guests enjoyed a night full of celebration at Williams-Brice Stadium as they took time to reflect on an outstanding set of accomplishments from last season.

Before the awards ceremony, Carolina was honored to welcome Gamecock legend Johnny Dutch back to Columbia as the keynote speaker. Dutch was the 2010 NCAA champion on the 400m hurdles, a three-time SEC champion and an eight-time All-American.

As usual, head coach Curtis Frye and the Gamecocks had a long list of academic standouts to honor at their annual banquet. Both the men's and women's programs were recognized as USTFCCCA All-Academic Teams, and a host of Gamecocks were chosen as USTFCCCA All-Academic individuals: Aliyah Abrams, Ryan Bermudez, Maya Evans, Nakita Gray, Markus Leemet, Alycia Springs, Ncincilili Titi and Armand Woodley. Leemet was also honored as a member of the CoSIDA Academic All-District Team.

Carolina once again celebrated a long list of All-Americans. Aliyah Abrams, Josh Awotunde, Tyler Brockington, Natasha Dicks, Briana Haith, Precious Holmes, Rougui Sow and Ncincilili Titi earned indoor All-America status last season. Brockington, Dicks, Sow and Titi duplicated the feat outdoors, where they were joined by Maiya Dendy, Isaiah Moore, Milan Parks, Taranisha Taylor and Tye Williams

The Gamecocks hosted the SEC Outdoor Championships in 2017, welcoming the nation's premier conference meet back to Columbia for the first time since 2001. The Carolina men finished eighth at Sheila & Morris Cregger Track, their best effort since 2010, while the Gamecock women came in 11th, their best result since 2012. Tyler Brockington highlighted the weekend with a conference title in the women's 400m hurdles, while eight Gamecocks claimed podium spots in front of a supportive home crowd.

At the end of the evening, Carolina recognized their Most Valuable Players from the 2017 season. Aliyah Abrams, Tyler Brockington, Natasha Dicks and Rougui Sow earned MVP honors on the women's side, while Josh Awotunde, Isaiah Moore, Ncincilili Titi and Tye Williams earned the distinction for the men's squad. Dicks (indoor triple jump), Sow (outdoor long jump), Titi (outdoor 200m) and Williams (outdoor high jump) each set Carolina records last season, as did Markus Leemet in the decathlon. A full list of award winners can be found in the sidebar to the right.


South Carolina returns to action soon, with the indoor season beginning in January and the outdoor campaign slated for March. Carolina will release its complete 2018 schedule in the coming weeks.




Gamecock Videos

  • Shop Now

Gamecock Features

b a
Verizon IMG College Colonial Life Coca Cola University of South Carolian SEC